The Distant Cousin?

Winter is nature’s way of saying, “Up yours.” ~ Robert Byrne

I think I may have mentioned before that I’m not a patient person.  I hate waiting around for people or things like time to pass.  With less than 2 weeks before the departure date, I’m becoming a little squirrely. I’m slowly starting to check out.  I’m ready to leave.  I think I mentally said goodbye to Montreal a long time ago.  It’s a great city (in the summer), but I was never at home here.  I was like the distant cousin who overstayed my visit.  And like extended family, Montreal and I tolerated each other.  I’ll be gone soon enough and I’m sure I’ll look back with fond memories saying to Juan, “Do you remember the time in Montreal when…..?”

You know that thing that happens when you HAVE overstayed your visit and you tell your relatives that you’re leaving?  It’s like they go from being resentful to being a nice again. I kind of feel that way about the weather right now.  November has been awesome!  It’s been “warm” with no rain.  It feels like I am getting away with something, not having to endure the first brunt of the season.  It’s like it’s holding off until I leave, you know as a kind gesture.  I understand that personifying the weather seems a little strange, but in my defense  it can be quite bitchy, nasty really.  (I really had to restrain myself from using gender there.) Anyone who has endured a harsh Canadian winter knows what I’m talking about. I should mention that it was     – 27 degrees when I visited my parents in Calgary last weekend, so, unfortunately I didn’t completely escape.

I just checked the weather forecast for the next two weeks.  I don’t want to jinx anything. Here’s another little truth about me, I like to know what’s going on with the weather, down to the hour. I think it’s a Canadian “thing”.  Some might call this obsessive; I just don’t want to be caught unaware. I like to be prepared; you know, wearing the appropriate clothing.  In saying that, I really dislike wearing winter boots (coat, mitts and a hat).  Maybe it’s the weight of them or the style, but as a pedestrian, as opposed to those who drive cars in the winter (they have different attire), I’ve learned that it’s far more practical to be warm than fashionable.

Soon enough, I’ll be trading my winter gear for a bathing suit!  Until then, I will bundle up and count my lucky stars that it hasn’t snowed, yet.

Early winter in Calgary.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About kimsimard

I'm a Canadian wandering around the world, discovering new food, cultures and friends. I'm currently in the homeland of the love of my life, Venezuela.

2 responses to “The Distant Cousin?”

  1. Mademoiselle C. says :

    Dear Madam,
    I really like the quote from Robert Byrne. 🙂
    I just checked Meteomedia and it may snow next week, so… 🙂

  2. S. says :

    ah yes the Canadian weather, it seems that we are always so addicted to the weather channel. Do you remember the good old days when there weren’t any commercials…Now it seems that all we do is wait up to a half an hour just before stepping outside to know the forecast of the day. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

