Happy Birthday

With mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come. ~                                William Shakespeare

Yesterday my mom was released from the hospital.  It was extra special for her because it was her birthday, but it was an absolute joyous occasion for my family because three weeks ago we didn’t know if she’d live to see this day.

She came home with quiet fanfare. No one greeted her at the house except my parents’ dog Chelsea.  She started barking, whining, and running around in circles at first sight through the curtains.  Once inside, she continued and used the furniture as an obstacle course, running around for the next 5 minutes.  After all of the hoopla, the dog pretty much ignored her for the rest of the day.  Maybe it was her way of telling my mom that she felt abandoned.  I thought it was strange. But isn’t it funny how people say cats are moody?  Huh.

My mom opened gifts and answered phone calls, ate some lunch and eventually had a nap.  I really enjoyed watching her live this day.  She was happy to be in her own surroundings and took pleasure in wearing her clothes (as opposed to the baby blue open back hospital gown), eating food she likes to eat, being able to open the fridge and drink whatever she wanted, and sit in her favorite chair to channel surf.  She was genuinely content.

On the drive home she said, “It’s funny the simple things we miss when we don’t see them” and my dad asked what kind of thing was she referring to and her reply was “traffic”. It sounded funny, but she was right.  Something as simple as the regular route home, the familiarity of it all, is something we can miss.

I can’t even imagine what this birthday would have been like if she hadn’t had such a great team of doctors, nurses and staff. My mind can’t even fathom what we would miss if she were gone. I am so grateful and so happy that she’s alive and at home.

I think this will go down as one of the best birthdays ever!

mom

Happy Birthday
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About kimsimard

I'm a Canadian wandering around the world, discovering new food, cultures and friends. I'm currently in the homeland of the love of my life, Venezuela.

7 responses to “Happy Birthday”

  1. Pamela Dier says :

    Great to hear your mom is home and doing well, Kim.

  2. Christene says :

    We are all sooo glad she is home save again!!! Awww nice picture!!! Love the flowers!!!

  3. céééé says :

    I’m so glad to know that your mom is doing better and better! happy birthday to her 🙂

  4. Catalina Campos says :

    Happy birthday for your Moooom!!!!!! ^_^
    I’m so happy because everything is fine 🙂 .. I understand when someone who is special for you isn’t totally healthy… When that situation comes involve a looooooooooot of things, and specials feelings even when you know that you need to take eveything you need to be strong…

    Your mom is right!! Sometimes we don’t know how to enjoy the simple things, like the silence, hugs, laugh and more…

    I wish you the best always Kim! ;**

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

